Just beginning my journey

Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

I am new to the world of Melanoma. Went to the doctor a year ago and mentioned some changes in a small freckle on my upper left thigh. No big deal…I took a picture with my iPad and monitored it for another year. Definite changes observed and my new physician went ahead with a biopsy. That was on November 4th. Received the positive melanoma result on the 16th of November(1.3 mm depth) and had an appointment with the cancer centre the next week. A wide excision and SLNB was completed December 9th and at the same time, another biopsy of a similar looking spot was taken off my right upper back. So now…..I am waiting. Will probably get the results back right after Christmas. Pretty scary stuff! My kids are 19,18,13 and 11. Luckily I have some Christmas shopping that will keep me distracted!
      So happy that I found this site. Reading the experiences of others has helped me to feel stronger and less intimated by what lies ahead.

Nevin
      Participant

Welcome Beverly! Sorry you are having to join the journey of a melanoma patient but yes, happy you have found this site! With further waiting involved it does help to have something to keep you somewhat distracted and when thinking of what might lie ahead it doesn’t help in any way to think negatively or to worry yourself constantly. Think positive and be thankful in knowing there are always new advances in treatment of and in the approach of melanoma. Of course having the support of such sites as this and all the resources available in finding this site as well as others, makes a big difference in not feeling quite so alone.